• Welcome to the Cricket Web forums, one of the biggest forums in the world dedicated to cricket.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join the Cricket Web community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.

Batting technique and stance

Malik1219

Hi
I want to ask opinions on how to find my natural stance and technique because I started playing cricket by watching intl cricket and copied different players over the years ,my stance and trigger movements or standing still keeps changing after 3/4 months .i have copied virat Kohli,sachin ,Clarke ,Williamson and some others . So could anyone tell me how to find that natural base where I can hit the ball best to my ability because I know everyone is different so I’m just trying to find myself .
Pleas help me out ,cheers

John1990

I can if you post back to me. You have one post and it's an old thread. If you get back to me I'll know you are actually going to read the reply and go into more detail.

NotMcKenzie

In my experience, if one has been changing one's batting technique a lot (like myself), then one may find it somewhat difficult to find a comfortable 'natural' technique.

Given you have already been playing, my advice would be to first know what shots you like to play and make sure your technique does not interfere with them.

With regards to trigger movements, I would probably try to avoid over-complicating things and start with no trigger movement or a classical back and across one: just don't make it too large as it will probably interfere with your stability.

John1990

Hi