• Welcome to the Cricket Web forums, one of the biggest forums in the world dedicated to cricket.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join the Cricket Web community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.

Random Animal Meat

Neil Pickup

Cricket Web Moderator
Right, random thread time.

Next weekend it's the cricket club's end-of-season dinner, and whilst I won't be winning anything unless there are awards for either (i) most stumpings or (ii) jug avoidance, there is a choice of some thoroughly random animal meats I've never tried before.

So... does anyone have any experience of the following: ostrich, kangaroo, wildebeest, zebra, impala, red hartebeest, springbok, crocodile, waterbuck, kudu, gemsbok and reindeer.

My favourite "normal" meat is lamb.

jan

ostrich, kangaroo, wildebeest, zebra, impala, red hartebeest, springbok, crocodile, waterbuck, kudu, gemsbok and reindeer.
Sound like either SA or AUS national team :laugh:

Had ostrich twice. Each time its taste was different so I suspected a more-legged animal but liked it - sort of tougher chicken it seemed to me. I would be sceptical about genuineness of such exotic meats, especially in case your club isnt a wealthy one.

cpr

TBH Kangaroo isn't too rare over here.

I've been told it tastes quite lamby, though i compared it to pork, so eff knows.... was quite a soft meat though, and tasted very nice. Thats about it.

Howe_zat